Chapter 24

 

The day after that, we judge more non-staged performances. I try to focus more on the actual performance rather than my thoughts and the weight on my shoulders. And the fact that it’s Christmas break soon! No more schoolwork, there will be cozy evenings, gifts, lot’s of guitar playing, Aunt Cynthia’s warm ‘Christmas soup’ hot chocolate, blankets…

 

A week later, I’m in math class dreaming about the break. There’s no way my brain is focusing on math at this time of the year. How could anybody else’s, anyways?

 

Kateri. Kateri!” I hear Amber’s voice. 

“Huh? What?” I snap out of it. 

“Kateri, the period is over. Let’s go to lunch.”

“Oh. Lunch. Right.” We stand up and head out of the math classroom. Amber offers me a warm smile.

“So, how are you doing? Y’know, with schoolwork n’ stuff. And that today is that last day until the break,” we walk together. 

“Eh, it’s okay I guess,” I shrug, “just excited to take a break. You?” 

“I’m actually going to Florida for Christmas,” Amber shrugs like it’s no big deal. “Me and my family go every year, like a tradition to see my cousins n’ stuff. I kinda wish I could stay.” 

“Why? Florida sounds so fun.”

“It is…. But after a while it gets… boring. I’m kinda excited for school to start,” Amber stares out to the distance with dreamy eyes. 

“Can’t say the same for me!” I laugh a little bit. Amber does too. 

Then she says something that I didn’t expect she would say, “so.. do you still like Alex?”

“I don’t know,” I hesitate, “not really thinking about him too much. Is that bad?” 

“No, not really,” Amber says. 

“Why?”

“Just wondering.” 

 

Zoom ahead a few hours later, a time I thought would never arrive, the day finally – finally – ends. Luckily, none of my teachers were mean enough to give out homework for the break, which I am grateful for. I walk home with a very heavy backpack, filled with my locker stuff, but I’m happy to know that my backpack isn’t filled with textbooks and workbooks. 

It wasn’t even that cold today. The wind wasn’t blowing so it made the air feel warm. I began to see Aunt Cynthia’s car in a parking spot and saw the frost on the window before I saw her.  

“Hi honey,” Aunt Cynthia said to me as I hopped in. 

“Hiiii,” I almost sang. 

“Oh my it’s so cold. Close your door!” Aunt Cynthia laughed. But she was right, it was cold. 

I laugh, “sorry.”

Aunt Cynthia starts backing up and driving away while I put on my seatbelt. 

“Excited about the last day until the break?” 

“Oh yeah. I mean, I like school,” I pause. Sometimes, “but, like, y’know?”

“Yeah! Schools make breaks so students can enjoy other things like family time, and overall being able to experience a break from school.

Do you know what your friends are doing for the break?”

“I know that Amber is going to Florida, Lily is at home, and Maria is also at home with her family,” I say.

I suddenly got a jolt of what I remembered to say to Aunt Cynthia. Or rather… ask. 

“Hey Auntie?”

“Yes?”

“I have uh, a request for Santa.” I start to say. 

“What kind of request?”

“Just a capo for mom’s guitar,” I spill out, “for Christmas. Please?” 

“Not sure. We’ll have to let Santa decide,” Aunt Cynthia replies. 

I huff and lean back in my seat. That was just Aunt Cynthia’s way of saying, ‘I’ll think about it’. I know Santa isn’t real, we both know. But we’ve been just saying Santa since I was little, so it kind of just stuck. 

“We’re almost home, I have a mug of hot chocolate for both of us. Your dad is coming home early, by the way,” Aunt Cynthia says. 

“Okay,” I feel better, “thanks.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *