Chapter 29

 

A week later, I’m aware that the test scores should be handed out during math that day. I wasn’t that nervous, I was just still relieved that it was over. 

 

During math class, I walk in to find a white piece of paper on my desk. I slowly let out a breath and sit down. Turning the paper around…

92%

My eyes darted up from excitement. All that studying, and it wasn’t for nothing. Maybe I was more prepared than I thought I was. I look at the note from Mrs. Lindsay at the top in her swirly handwriting.

 

Nice job Kateri! I can see you understand new math concepts a lot and I loved how you took your time studying in class. 

 

My heart almost bursts in happiness and relief. I start to look around the class and see other students have come in to see their test. Some look disappointed, others happy. 

 

“So,” Lily sets her tray down on the table and almost knocks over my juice box. “What marks did you get?” No one answers, “y’know, for the math test.”

Maria was on her phone, “huh? Oh, uh, I think I got 95%?” 

“I got 83%,” Amber shrugs, “I don’t think I did too bad.”

“92%” I say, “what about you, Lil?” 

“93,” she says proudly, “we are so smart.”

We laugh. 

“Anyway, anyone got any plans this weekend?” Lily asks us. 

“No,” I say, picking at my jelly sandwich. 

Maria groans, “I do. I’m visiting my cousins who live, like, 4 hours away from here. They are so annoying.” 

“I am too,” Amber says, “I started babysitting kids around town, and I have bookings for both Saturday and Sunday. Sorry guys.”

Lily laughs, “I guess that just means you and me, Kat! Wanna do something together?”

“That would be so fun! Actually, Aunt Cynthia might be gone most of the weekend, shopping and I think she wants to visit her college friends, too. Why don’t you come to my house?”

“Yeah, sure. And guys,” Lily turns to Amber and Maria, “we’ll have one big sleepover next weekend or whatever, promise.”

“Deal.”

“Sure.”

“Okay!”

 

“Can she come? Please?” I had just come home from school 5 minutes ago. 

“Alright, fine. Don’t trash the house though,” Aunt Cynthia laughs, “And no inappropriate movies, or horror ones, for that matter.”

“We don’t even like those types of movies! And yes! Thank you!”

Aunt Cynthia laughs, “okay okay calm down child. Have some dinner.” 

I sit down with some mashed potatoes in front of me. I pull out my phone and start to type. 

“No phone at the table,” Aunt Cynthia sits across from me and wags a finger at me. 

“Fine,” I throw it on the couch. “Where’s dad?”

She sighs, “he had to work extra hours again today. And he’ll be in the basement working when Lily comes over tomorrow,” Aunt Cynthia puts salad on my plate. 

“Oh,” my eyes fall down. All these years, it seemed like Aunt Cynthia was more of a parent to me than my own father. He just isn’t the same without mom.

“Oh! Remember that freshman test I took a week ago?”

“How could I forget? The test you stressed about for literally 3 weeks,” Aunt Cynthia points out. 

I roll my eyes, “yeah yeah. But I got the marks back today!”

“And?”

“92%!” 

“Hey Kat, that’s great! Good job!” She high fives me.

I scarf down half my mashed potatoes, “right?” 

 

9:28 pm.

Studying – finished

Dinner – eaten 

Backpack – unpacked

Text Lily – x 

 

I go over the list of what I should do in bed when I can barely keep my eyes open. Then I text Lily.

 

Kateri: hiii my aunt says you can come over tomorrow at 5. keep me posted xo

 

I fell asleep shortly after. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *